I Don’t Know Much

“For I know that the LORD is great, and that our Lord is above all gods.”
(Psalm 135:5)

There are times in the ministry when I realize just how ill-equipped and limited I am for this calling.

I don’t know why tragedy has to touch the lives of the innocent.

I don’t know why cancer has to ravage and destroy.

I don’t know why we’d rather listen to half-truths and full out lies rather than walk in the light.

I don’t know why I stop relying on the Spirit of God when I’ve proven beyond doubt my utter inability.

I don’t know why the evil seem to prosper and the righteous are trampled, but it happens all the time.

I don’t know why my rebel heart (and maybe yours too) is so prone to leave the God who loves me so much, to wander off to enjoy momentary and fleeting pleasures, rather than delighting in eternal joy.

I don’t know why I return to my sins when I see the suffering and pain they caused my Savior.

I don’t know why I become complacent when I am daily confronted with the majestic glory of the Almighty.

I don’t know much.

But this I know.  Our God is great!  Our God is faithful!  Our God is majestic and glorious!  Our God is stronger than any conflict, bigger than any obstacle, wiser than any problem, closer than any trouble.  Our God can heal any disease, redeem every situation, sanctify any sinner.  There is nothing beyond His power, nothing out of His reach, nothing He has not already seen, nothing He cannot handle.

I don’t know much, but what I know is enough to shine the light into every darkened corner.  It is enough to give hope to every weary sinner.  It is enough to strengthen the fainthearted and support the weak.

I don’t know much, but I know that God’s grace is sufficient, and his power is made perfect in weakness.  “Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weakness, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me” (1 Cor 12:9).

SDG

About reveds

Occupation: Pastor, Ebenezer Presbyterian Church, Lennox, SD Education: BS - Christian Education, Sterling College; MDiv. - Princeton Theological Seminary Family: Married, with Four children. Hobbies: Running (will someday run a marathon), Sci-Fi (especially Doctor Who and Sherlock), Theater, and anything else my kids will let me do.
This entry was posted in Faith and Practice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

